Cobb Business Consulting

A Resource for Business

Obsessive Lead Tracker

I consider myself to be an obsessive lead tracker.

Once I find a prospect who is willing to talk to me, I hang on to their information indefinitely.  They will always be in my follow up routine.  In fact, some of my best customers come from leads that at some point had almost zero interest in talking with me.

Some of the most important advice I can give to anyone in sales or business ownership is to keep organized.  And I’m not talking about your desk (though that is important too).  I’m talking about really managing your leads.  You should be spending time every day, even multiple times a day to organize your leads.  You should keep them updated with current notes, updated contact information and a relevant follow up date.

Managing your leads could be as simple as keeping an old fashioned index file.  Some may keep an excel spreadsheet or even start an access database file.  Choose the method that works best for you and stick with it.  Just like your business plan, you should be evaluating your lead strategy often.  Your leads are the life-blood of your sales and if you neglect them, you could be setting yourself up for a hard fall.


Shoeboxed.com - Scan Receipts and Business Cards

February 17, 2009 Posted by | Sales Lead Management | Leave a comment